The Hinsdale Challenge closed off the first half of the season for all NRT Men’s Tournaments and Mike Marino and Dane Schmidgall couldn’t have played any better. They won the tournament without losing a set. In the final match they played versus Hall of Famers Flip Goodspeed and Scott Mansager and beat them 6-3, 6-2. Marino-Schmidgall pretty much dominated from beginning to end.

This win will probably help the new champions to move up from the current #9 APTA Ranking. Drew Broderick and Chris Gambino, champions in 2010, could not defend their title due to Broderick not being able to make the trip to Chicago.

Main Draw Results

1st Round
Garvin-Stapleton def. Garavaglia-Lemery NSR
Noble-Saltzman def. Feldman-Pecor NSR
Cromydas-Struck def. McPherson-De La Cruz NSR
Byrnes-Schwartz def. McClure-Moran NSR

Round of 16s
Engel-Martin def. Garvin-Stapleton 6-4, 6-2
Goodspeed-Mansager def. Guzik-T. Marino NSR
Jones-Woldenberg def. Bicket-Grohs NSR
Gambino-Kozak def. Noble-Saltzman 5-7, 7-6, 6-3
Cromydas-Struck def. Neave-Smith 1-6, 6-3, 6-1
Bondurant-Mavrin def. N. Parsons-Rahaley 2-6, 6-1, 6-1
Barnes-O’Neill def. Cunnington-Zielstra 6-4, 6-4
M. Marino-Schmidgall def. Byrnes-Schwartz NSR

Goodspeed-Mansager def. Engel-Martin 6-4, 6-4
Jones-Woldenberg def. Gambin0-Kozak NSR
Bondurant-Mavrin def. Cromydas-Struck 6-1, 6-3
M. Marino-Schmidgall def. Barnes-O’Neill NSR

Goodspeed-Mansager def. Jones-Woldenberg 6-2, 7-5
M. Marino-Schmidgall def. Bondurant-Mavrin 6-2, 6-2

M. Marino-Schmidgall def. Goodspeed-Mansager 6-3, 6-2

All other finals include:
Quarters Reprieve – Engle-Martin def. Barnes-O’Neill 6-4, 6-4
Consolation – Neave-Smith def. McPherson-DeLaCruz 7-5, 3-6, 6-3
Last Chance – Byrnes-Schwartz def. Cunnington-Zielstra 3-6, 6-3, 6-2

Have you seen all our videos?
D1 Philly Paddle Review - Week 8

Patricio Misitrano